As salamu alaikum

 I have been reading this book called “Home Style Teaching A Handbook for Parents and Teachers” by Raymond and Dorothy Moore.  In it they talk about how homeschooled children are basically getting the best education because of the one on one love and attention and training they receive. 

One of the suggestions in their book is that you should have your children actively participating in housekeeping, gardening, etc.  This is one of the most important things to teach.  So I got to looking at the kitchen floor which badly needed cleaning(embarrased), and so I thought what a great lesson I could teach.  So after we did our math and phonics and took a quick stroll, I got a bucket of water with a little dishliquid and bakingsoda(I didn’t want to use anything harsh for the little ones.) 

1.  I taught them that before cleaning the floor we have to clear the floor of any chairs.

2. We sweep.

3.  We wash from the far end back. 

To be honest I was expecting to have to go back over it as my younger ones are only 5 & 7.  Well I was suprised.  They handled it very well and that floor was CLEAN!  Especially my dd(5 yr old) she had fun.

Today she cleaned the bathroom floor all by herself.  I was able to leave her and come back and masha Allah I could not have done better.  Those little stinkers really can do more than we think.  So I definately learned a valuable lesson too.

