As salamu alaikum

I know it’s been awhile since I’ve been here.  I finally had my fifth baby 2 months ago Al hamdulillah everything went as I had hoped it would.  Alhamdulillah!  As I just got done telling a sister after 11 years of being Muslim I am finally understanding that Allah is in full control.  I’m still working on it but it’s finally clicking in.  That’s the beauty of this deen always learning, always growing. 

A sister recently posted her succesful birth story on her blog and I thought what a great idea we all need support stories when we are going through a tough time and need to see that others made it through.  Here is the link to her story. 

http://ummihomeschoolsme.wordpress.com/2010/03/20/allah-is-al-qadeer-my-birth-story/

I’m going to break mine up into smaller posts since I have so many children and this would be too long to read in one sitting LOL!

So here goes my story ;

18 years ago I got pregnant with my first child, I was 18 myself and had no clue what was going on.  I was put in a room and told to lay on my back.  They popped my water and seen meconium was in it. My labor didn’t progress after 8cm and the baby was in distress, so I was rushed to an emergency c-section.   It was a nightmare.   I woke to the doctor telling me that I had a 10lb 11 oz baby,  I was so drugged up but I remember thinking they mixed up my baby with someone elses,  there was no way I had a baby that big.  Also the incision infected and reopened and had to heal that way.  I also had another infection that the docs couldn’t figure out what it was.  I was in the hospital for 2 weeks until my fever broke.   It was rough, I and my husband who was my boyfriend at the time, were not muslim and we were not planning to have anymore kids after that incident. 

9 years later, after many trials that led us to Islam and a better view on how our lives should be, we decided Insha Allah to have another baby.  I had no idea what a VBAC was all I wanted to know was did I have to have another C Section.  When I became pregnant the doc told me I would do fine to try for a VBAC.  I was very happy to hear that.  The labor did go beautifully, until I broke down at the end and begged for an epidural.  I was 9cm when they gave it to me and by the time I was numb it was time to push I couldn’t feel anything I was there for what seemed like hours pushing.  The babies heart rate was dropping so they told my husband that we had to get him out.  They said either a c section or the vacuum and he told them vacuum.  Alhamdulillah we had a healthy 9lb 10 0z boy.  Another big one!

18mos later I became pregnant again with our 3rd child.  We went to the docs but they told us there was a new law and they were not doing VBACS anymore.  I was devastated.  We did find a county hospital that was willing to let us go for it.   Throughout pregnancy I read labor and delivery books and did all kinds of research.  I was not going to do drugs this time, and I was not going to let them talk me into a c-section.  I ended up developing gestational diabetes with this one and the docs were not going to let me go to far past my due date because of the risk of stillbirth.  So the day the doc told me this I went upstairs for a Non stress test and was told that I was having contractions and that they would see about giving me pitocin.  The doc did an ultrasound before hand and estimated the baby to be 11lbs.  So she refused to induce my labor.  Then her and another doctor pretty much scared me to death when they told me all the risks of diabetic babies and I caved and cried and had a C Section that night.  The baby was 11lbs 12oz and Allah knows best whether I would have survived that had I went the other route.

please see part 2

