I decided I wanted to take a break from having babies for a while after a miscarriage 18mos later.  Alhamdulillah, Allah granted me that wish for the next 7 years.  Then up popped baby number 4, to be honest I truly thought I was not going to have anymore after the last one.  Allah is the best of planners isn’t he? 

 We currently reside in PA. and I had a wonderful midwife throughout this pregnancy and I think she had more confidence than I did.  I was determined to go in without drugs and have this baby naturally.  The docs did keep a close eye on babies size this time and when they estimated him to be 9lb140z 1 week after my due date they decided that it was best for me to have another C-section.  I was devastated I cried and made dua to Allah and I told him that I will accept whatever is his plan because I knew it was truly up to him.  I was scheduled to go the next day and at 4 am I woke to my water breaking.  YES!  We went to the hospital and the docs were bombarding me with C-section, C-section, C-section.  They were saying again that he could have big shoulders or a big head and I might not be able to push him out.   All I could think was if Allah wanted me to have a C-section then my water wouldn’t have broken so I told them NO!  They told me they wanted to put a catheter in my back in case of an emergency.  I agreed and of course asked for the epidural because they wouldn’t let me out of bed, because my water was broke and the cord could fall out, whatever that means.   I was kind of worried that it would inhibit me from pushing again as it  did with baby #2. 

Earlier in the pregnancy I made a pouch to put Surah’s in and wore it during labor.  I got them from here http://www.duas.org/matri3.htm#Safety_of_child_and_mother_during_pregnancy_

I also listened to quran during labor.  Even though I had an epidural I could still feel a lot of pressure during contractions and when it was time to push I could feel that too.  Then I think it was less than 30 minutes of pushing and my 4th child was born he was 9lbs 12oz.  The doctor said, “Mom knows best.”  Alhamdulillah, Allah is truly amazing.  By having the epidural I felt I was set up for failure again, but Allah made it so easy.

Please see part 3

